In the 1830s, Guadalupe Cantua de Vasquez bought the modest single story adobe house from Luis Pacencia. The house would one day become notorious in Old Monterey for its association with her son Tiburcio Vasquez. Tiburcio was well-known as a charming and flamboyant bandit that none in Monterey dared cross; he was not captured until 1874, when he was tried and hung in San Jose.
Little remains visible of the original building, due to many extensions and renovations, including the addition of the second floor of stucco’d wood by Louis Hill, one of California’s railroad tycoons. Today’s irregular floor plan takes in verandas on both the first and second floors, a shed-like addition to the ground floor on the eastern elevation, and a hip roof of shingles.
Now the property of the City of Monterey, the building houses city offices and is not generally open to the public.