This charming house, sometimes called in Spanish La Casa de Los Vientos, acquired its name by the mid-1800s, because it was the first house in Monterey with a weathervane on its hipped roof. Built about 1835, the adobe was originally part of the large piece of property on Calle Principal developed by Thomas O. Larkin. First used as a residence by the Mexican Governor Alvarado, William S. Johnson later designated it as the first State of California Hall of Records for the newly formed County of Monterey.
One of the first groups to urge the preservation of Monterey’s adobes was the Women’s Civic Club, founded in 1906. The WCC purchased this adobe in 1914 and transformed it into their club house (believed to be the oldest such club house in the U.S.) with additions to the rear. The original front section and second story have been restored and furnished in the spirit of the 1850s, its facade still serenely facing the street.